, pub-2952063874047980, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
top of page

NHL Team Changes since 1917

The NHL's had more name changes and team moves than a teenager on Instagram with a midlife crisis. It started with the Original Six, then saw the Winnipeg Jets become the Phoenix Coyotes, only to return as the Jets, while the Minnesota North Stars headed south to Dallas as the Stars. The Hartford Whalers turned into the Carolina Hurricanes, the Mighty Ducks dropped their "mighty" to be just the Anaheim Ducks, and the Las Vegas Golden Knights joined the league in style. It's a name game crazier than a soap opera, but with ice, sticks, and pucks. Stay tuned for the Toronto Maple Leafs potentially rebranding as the Toronto Maple Syrups because they're just that sweet!

Current NHL Divisions

Western Conference

Eastern Conference

Central (Western)

  • Arizona Coyotes

  • Chicago Blackhawks

  • Colorado Avalanche

  • Dallas Stars

  • Minnesota Wild

  • Nashville Predators

  • St. Louis Blues

  • Winnipeg Jets

Atlantic (Eastern)

  • Boston Bruins

  • Buffalo Sabres

  • Detroit Red Wings

  • Florida Panthers

  • Montreal Canadiens

  • Ottawa Senators

  • Tampa Bay Lightning

  • Toronto Maple Leafs

Pacific (Western)

  • Anaheim Ducks

  • Calgary Flames

  • Edmonton Oilers

  • Los Angeles Kings

  • San Jose Sharks

  • Seattle Kraken

  • Vancouver Canucks

  • Las Vegas Golden Knights

Metropolitan (Eastern)

  • Carolina Hurricanes

  • Columbus Blue Jackets

  • New Jersey Devils

  • New York Islanders

  • New York Rangers

  • Philadelphia Flyers

  • Pittsburgh Penguins

  • Washington Capitals

bottom of page, pub-2952063874047980, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0